Balanced Diet, Balanced Budget, Balanced Tires, oh my!


http://zenhabits.net/balance/

  1. Awareness and Mindfulness
  2. Appreciation of Your Body
  3. Creativity
  4. Patience
  5. Simplicity

What do Zen habits have to do with organizing?

Actually, a whole lot, here is my take; today, Awareness and Mindfulness.

Webster’s Dictionary defines awareness as, having knowledge or realization; conscious; informed. It defines mindfulness as, attentive; aware.

Have you ever been driving and then you suddenly realize you don’t remember seeing a section of road your just pass?

How many other things do you do during the day that you don’t remember doing?

Where are your car keys?

Life moves so quickly for most of us, I can’t deny that, but take a moment, stop, take a breath and think about what is important at this moment…..

I have been following a business coach by the name of Adela Rubio. She is amazing! She does these call-in energy shifts in the morning, http://consciousenergyshifts.com.  Sometimes I listen to her voice, her message, sometimes I focus on one subject I am dwelling on and sometimes I just try to make the mind go blank.

Going blank is harder than you think. I close my eyes and look at the inside of my eyelids. What? I look at the inside of my eyelids, in most cases I see a color. I focus on the color of the day and try to image that color washing over me like paint. I know it sounds weird, but for me, focusing on something that abstract clears all the goo from the moment. It helps me stop trying to solve a problem and just sense now.

The reality is we are already trying to shift our energy and make our mind go blank every day. We might call it winning-down or relaxing but instead of focusing on the moment, we fill the moment with distractions. I have my own distractions; email is one of the best. I can sit in front of the computer for hours sorting through emails or hoping an email comes through. Am I aware how much of a distraction it is for me? Most of the time, but I do sometimes need a reminder and that’s where my husband and dog come in, they keep me grounded.

So, where are your car keys?

Here is the game. Today, before you get out of your car, stop, close your eyes and take a deep breath and think about where you are going to put your keys. If the next time they are there, pat yourself on the back, great job! If they are not, don’t damn yourself, try again.

Awareness and mindfulness this is the first step organizing, welcome.

