Day 5: Organizing Volunteers


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

5. Keep your desk and general work area tidy. A tidy workspace helps keep a tidy mind, which helps make your day more productive.

Yesterday, (Saturday, the real Day 5), I got caught up in a volunteer activity that took most of the day. By the time I got home, I was exhausted.  Volunteering by nature should be one of the easiest things to do because;

1. The tasks are easy

2. You don’t necessary have to do the tasks for any length of time

3. You really don’t have any responsibilities

 But showing up and just volunteering is probably one the hardest things for me to do. What does this have to do with keeping your work area tidy? A lot actually, if you can’t find where things are or don’t have any system in place, how do you expect a volunteer to helpful?

Not having a master plan, course of action and backup support for you, your employees, and volunteers, will break you and your event. The last thing you want is a volunteer to start making executive decisions on their own because there are no guidelines and there is no one around to answer a question. They are the ones who are face to face with the customer. And the low man on the totem pole WILL do anything to make an upset customer go away.

So, I guess this really didn’t have anything to do with what I experienced yesterday, it was just a rant. But I will leave you with two thoughts;

  1. If you are lucky you business will get to a point that you will have to have employees. Lead by example.
  2. Think about this, I googled image search the term “disorganized event” and came up with 50,700 results.

Day 5 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo by www.freedigitalphotos.net

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

