Day 6: Got Distraction?


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

6. Turn off the telephone when you need to work without distraction. Turn off IM and email notifications too. In fact, if possible, shut off the Internet. 

I am old enough to remember a world without cell phones, internet and computers. In reality, that doesn’t really make me all that old. I am not going to go off on a tangent about the good old days, I am not that old, but the current ability to stay connected to the outside world is actually making us more disconnected. And because we feel disconnected, we in turn try to compensate with constant checking of the phone and email. I am as guilty of it as the next person.

 I am working alone in my home office. If I am not with a client, this is where I am. And even though I love working by myself and work on something I am really proud of, getting the tasks on the “to do list” done some less important than checking the email. I DO have to turn off the email, the internet, the phone and the music and force myself to focus.

Why is this so hard? While I am doing the tasks I am completely involved, I am completely there, so why is it so hard? Has it always been like this?

For me, I have always been easily distracted, so my parents and I learned how to create an environment that was conducive to work. That is why I have to shut everything down now. Presently, I am overloaded with information. This is much to do with the fact I love research and my thirst for knowledge never seems to be satisfied. If I don’t sit down and focus, none of the information will sink in it will just be floating around my head. Which will frustrate me and then I will look for anything I can do to distract me from my uncomfortable feeling.

There may be the root of the problem we can so easily ignore what we are feeling by connecting with a metal box. Why get work done? So, stop, think and work. Connect with humans not metal boxes.  

Day 6 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo by www.freedigitalphotos.net, Simon Howden

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

