Day 7: What’s Your Biggest Challenge?


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

7. Don’t stop working if it’s a hard day. There’ll be times when you haven’t got any ideas, or just don’t feel productive. Train yourself to do some work anyway. It’s a short fall from “It’s just not happening at the moment” to “It’s a bit tough, I’ll stop for the day”. Next thing you know, you never seem to get anything done.

The beginning of the second week and we are starting off with a good one, one that cut very close to the bone. I find it extremely difficult to work when something is bothering me. I dwell, co-workers in the past have called it the brooding Swed. And sometimes, things bother me so much, I can’t work on the things I want to work on, forget about have to work on. I am a creative person. And like most creative people I feel moved to work when the mood hits me. This, coupled with stress of doing things you don’t particularly want to do….Well, it usually involves some kind of melt down.

 I agree and disagree with this tip. I agree that you shouldn’t stop working to play Freecell for four hours. But on the other side of the coin, if you continue to work and do a half ass job, you are really letting down your client and yourself. It really depends on a whole lot of things beyond “do I want to do it or not”. So quick fixes won’t work here, sorry. But do try this, what you are trying to achieve is to get “unstuck” not necessary finding the complete answer.

Identify what is really holding you back.

Ask yourself this question. “What is my biggest challenge?” or “Why don’t I want to do this task?” Write down the answer.

Now, ask yourself this question. “What is my biggest challenge?” or “Why don’t I want to do this task?” Write down the answer again.

Finally, ask yourself this question. “No really, what is my biggest challenge?” or “Why don’t I want to do this task?” Write down the answer.

Crazy as it seems, you will get three different answers. From there you may just have pushed yourself passed the rock that was holding you back. Changing the subject in your head is like creating a commercial. It is a break for the mind, body and soul to regroup. Try it the next time you are stuck.

Day 7 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo by, www.freedigitalphotos.net, The Photoholic

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

