Day 18: Don’t Miss Another Christmas Party


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

18. Know when to stop. Don’t work late into the night. Set defined times when you’re going to work, and then when it passes, stop. You can have a bit of leeway here, but make sure that you don’t end up letting work run your life. 

 I know it does seem to be the ghost of Christmas past. But there may be a good reason why it keeps being brought up and said in different ways. And I know this is going to sound like a justification my own bad habits, but I don’t work into the late night. I learned this lesson very early in my adulthood. And in a way it was brought to my attention again today with the news of a colleague’s family member passing.

The bottom line is life is too short. And you really don’t know when it going to end. The work will be there in the morning, but you may not be.

Like I said, I learned this early in life. I created a reality that corresponds to that belief. And then I fought the idea because I have to make money, had to make a career. I remember on night several years ago when I work late. The architectural project I was working on had last minutes changes and even though I was expected at a Christmas party for my husband’s company I stayed, thinking I could finish it and just show up late. I never got out of the office. I know, it was a silly dinner party, but I had successfully let work and the image of being in that role take over my life.

Years later, at a different firm, also in December I worked my last long night. I realized I can’t do this anymore. I can’t let work control my life. I can’t live someone else’s reality.

The work will be there in the morning, but you may not be.

Day 18 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo courtesy of www.freedigitalphotos.net, Salvatore Vuano

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

