Day 22: How Much Does Daycare Cost?


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

22. Sound Canceling Headphones. Seriously useful if you have a 3-year-old.

REALLY!!

What is worst than a three year old? A three year old that is not getting any attention.

I am not a parent, but I can’t condone this tip. Blocking out the sound of a three year old does make the destruction go away. As I said before, I am not a parent, but I have done my share of babysitting the last thing you want to do is maximum the carnage by not listening to the situation. 

I have to ask, how much does daycare cost?

Now, let’s say you have no children or animals to distract you. Your other half is at work and you are truly alone. I don’t think I would still advice this tip. I would not feel safe. I need to hear what is going on around me. I am always aware of my surroundings. This level of awareness affords me to be able to react quickly to the changing environment. For the noise you can control, eliminate as much as possible. You know what your triggers are, identify them, write them down and get rid of them.

If you can’t focus because of sounds you can’t control, try some sound proofing. Put lined drapes on the windows. If you have to, draw the drapes. Put down area rugs and throw some pillows around. Anything that is made of fabric will absorb sound. Make your hard surfaces softer. Work at a kitchen or dining room table, put a tablecloth on.

And one last thing, I hate to point it out, but if you are really having a hard time focusing, perhaps it not the sound, it is the work. If the work is not consuming you in thought, maybe it is time to take some time and regroup. Take a walk, or meditate or whatever helps you clear your mind.

Day 22 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo courtesy of http://funz.ro/2009/04/

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

