Day 24: Yummy Bacon


http://zenhabits.net/top-30-tips-for-staying-productive-and-sane-while-working-from-home/

24. Have a good lunch. One readers suggested that something with good carb content works best. Puts you in the mood for the second half of the day.

My favorite sandwich is a grilled cheese with bacon. It has three of my favorite foods in it, bread, cheese and bacon. No, I don’t have them for lunch, especially when I am trying to work. If I did, I would be asleep right now. I find eating during the day very touchy. There seems to be a fine line between keeping the energy up and not over eating.

I find that while I am out and about trying to find a place that has small sandwiches is impossible. We have been programmed to think bigger is better and the food industry has responded. Case in point, KFC’s Double Down Sandwich. Local restaurants are not much better serving everything with fries or chips.  Maybe a salad you think, but I don’t like pre-dressing salads. As a matter of fact I don’t like dressing at all. Kind of defeats the purpose of the salad, and it is just as huge as the sandwiches. I was taught to eat everything on my plate, hence the over eating. So I go home and try to find something to eat. A lot of the time it ends up being leftovers from the night before. Or if I am really good I will have some Rye Crisp crackers with some peanut butter and a juice.

I have read that we are supposed to eat our large meal at noon time. And I would have to say that a large share of the world does, but they also take afternoon naps too. They also seem to be happier people, I wonder if there is a correlation between the two? We have proven that we can’t have the big lunch and be productive too.

I agree with this tip, and I don’t think this was very shocking to anyone. And I am not a dietitian, but here are some ideas:

  1. Drink water.
  2. Pay attention to the caffeine, especially in the afternoon. (The Five Hour Energy, I don’t think is a good idea either)
  3. Veggies and Fruit
  4. A small amount of protein and fat – ie: the peanut butter
  5. Good Carbs – Whole grains

Come on, we all know this I am not telling you anything you haven’t heard before. Make a game out of it, make yourself a lab rat. See what works and what doesn’t work for you. In quick time, you will feel the difference. I was off my routine for four days this week and I am feeling it. Dare I say it, you will start to crave healthy things! I swear.

Have a good weekend!

PS – I don’t believe the tomato/lettuce garnish is considered a portion of veggies. LOL

Day 24 of what? Check out my post “30 Day Challenge” http://wp.me/pUygC-C to read the answer.

Photo courtesy of www.freedigitalphotos.com, Suat Eman

Before you go, please take our one question survey!
Click here to take survey

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

