Happy Birthday Sage!


I know, I know, I am supposed to say Happy Anniversary, but trust me it feels like I gave birth. There is no doubt in my mind it has been like taking care of a newborn, sleepless night and all. I have had some good times and some bad times but in the end I wouldn’t change it for the world. I really like being a business owner and I really like shaping my business to what I want not what others say needs to be done.

That being said, a lot of the bad times have stemmed from me trying to fit myself into the standard mold that “they” say all business owners should use to be successful. I wanted to be successful so I grabbed the “tried and true” tools and tried to apply them to my company. The result was not very successful so I moved on to something else and tried another tool in my business. In the end I over thought the problems, analyzed the tools and processes to death and then I decided, “If the wheels that are out there don’t fit, create your own wheel.” 

 My first post on my blog was entitled “KISS: Keep It Simple Stupid” and yet I didn’t take my own advice and I blew up issues when perhaps I didn’t need to. What I was left with was a bunch of parts that didn’t necessary create a complete and successful business. According to Wikipedia (can’t believe I am quoting them), “In popular culture, the phrase “Groundhog Day” has come to represent going through a phenomenon over and over until one spiritually transcends it”. (Did I mention that it is February 2nd, Groundhog Day?)

And the cycle continued up until recently. Albert Einstein defined insanity as, “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

But I had to face up to the fact that I don’t run with the pack, I pretty much have never run with the pack. And I have in the past had a personal struggle with finding the balance between fitting a square peg in a round hole and reinventing the wheel.  One thing you should know about me is that I have very well developed opinions. I base my opinions on my own research, my own analysis and then I come to my own determinations.  My opinions shape my core beliefs and values and they are everything to me. I will companion behind them and fight to the death for them. This is also how I feel and act about my friends, family and my clients. These values encompass my physical, emotional, mental and spiritual being and these are the parts that make the foundation for my business.

Core Values and Beliefs:

Transparent, Honesty, Love, Peace, Proactive, Integrity

Growth, Change, Inclusive, Gratitude, Empower

Holistic, Solutions, Abundance, Stewardship, Serve, Teach, Learn

Humor, Out-of-the- Thinking, Fun, Flexible

Green, Nature, Comfortable, Simple, Attractive

In so many ways, I felt I had to compromise last year to fit in, and it was killing me. And generally, we don’t see much of these values out in the world today, but I decided if I want to see more of them the process had to start with me. I needed to have the courage to say “I am mad as hell and I not going to take it anymore!” These core values are my tools, this is what I have to offer and this is how I am going to put it out in to the world.  

In the coming year I will focus on staying true to my values. I will trust that if I take the lead others will follow. I have already sent a proposal to teach a class this spring at a local college and I am working on shaping a product that would be a self study, go at your own pace, program to help get the your office in organized shape. I am also looking for new opportunities to volunteer and give back to the community. This year will be brighter because I will work to make it brighter.

One last thing, I want to thank my husband, and my dog for putting up with me and showing me love way beyond my wildest dreams. And I want to thank my family and friends that are always supportive even when they don’t know it. And I want to thank my former clients for getting through the last year and all who follow me on Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin even if you have never met me. I really appreciate any and all support I get.

2011 here I come!

 “To shine the light and empower others, I must first find and keep the balance between warrior and sage in myself. Only after I fill the dark corners of myself with light and begin to glow will I become the purposeable beacon for others in their quest.” CJ Hanlon, 2011

