Are We Really Connected?


 

(Revised and originally posted April 26, 2011)

Are we really connected?

About a month ago a business acquaintance passed away. I only had the chance to sit down and talk with him a couple of times, but I knew he was a kind and honest man. I also could see and feel the passion he brought to his business. He love sharing and teaching his knowledge of computers and he was very down to earth. He was one of the good guys and he will be missed.

I heard about his passing from a colleague who was a lot closer to him, and as he told me the details, what little he had, I couldn’t help feeling the sense of disconnect among the whole business community. I always joke that Richmond is a really small town, but at that moment we all seem so distant.

Fast-forward to April 25, 2011. I was busy working on a marketing flyer for my new class when I came across a notice that a new person was following me on Twitter. The person was someone local and I had actually met, but what struck me weird was our similar connections, among them the gentleman who passed last month. I clicked on the icon and was surprised to see that it was still live. From there, I clicked on his web site link, and again, it was still live! It is sad to think that according to cyberspace he is still alive and running a business.

Now I know his death was sudden and the family may not concerned with perhaps small details like shutting down a web site, but….. I have first-hand experience with unexpected death and on the personal level it is devastating. But I have also seen the turmoil it causes in a business. In your business it is extremely important to plan for the future and share information about your business to others in the case of an emergency.

The first step to do this is start documenting what you do in your business, start writing down passwords and client contact information. Start to create an “In Case of Emergency” journal for your business. It doesn’t have to be done in a day or a month, and as a matter of fact it will never really be done because your business will always be evolving!

Seeing a live web site for a person who has passed is less like finding old photographs in the attic and more like a chilling reminder that we are not connected deeply to anyone anymore.

 

