Sticky Situation – Speaking Your Mind


It is always good to speak you mind, but much too often we hold our tongues because we think it for the greater good. Let’s face it if someone asks you of the clothing they are wearing makes their butt look big, 9 times out of 10, the answer won’t be completely truthful. Knowing this information many people in business rely on surveys, questionnaires and focus groups to figure out what their customers and/or potential customers are thinking.

The up side to these detached queries is that the people taking part are “completely” anonymous, thus in theory, they feel they can answer freely. The down side is we are taught at a very young age to “lie” for the greater good. And even thought we know our answers are anonymous, we still can’t shake the knowledge that someone is behind all those questions. This very subject was studied by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner’s book, SuperFreakonomics.

In any case, I created a marketing survey. I wanted to know what my community thoughts were on the topic of organizing. I want to thank everyone who participated! Your input will help with my output! But, after looking at the results and then the questions again, I see I have created a yet another example of slanting outcomes.

Here is an example, the first question was,” Do you know a Professional Organizer?”

Simple question but the result (61.7%, yes) is bias because a lot of people who know me took the survey! Silly me for asking the question.

Questions two and three run along the same lines, “How long does a project take and how much does it cost?

Even though I don’t state the actual hours or how much I get paid for a project, I think just knowing me you would get a ball park figure. So lesson learned here, ask better questions. Here is the break down to question two and three.

Two: How long does a project take?  1 to 3 hours (4.7%), 4 to 8 hours (14.0%), 8 or more hours (18.6%) and it is an on-going process (62.8%)

Three: How much does it cost? Hundreds (75%), Thousands (25%) and a few (I don’t knows).

I have to account for some bias here, the answers are still revealing. The truth is all the answers are correct. Each project is different, each client is unique and all have different beliefs, expectations, agendas, and goals. All of these things effect the amount of time and money spent on an organizing project. Let’s continue to question four.

Four: On a scale from one to ten, one meaning no value and ten meaning high value, please rate the following:

A productive work space – 6 (4.3%), 7 (10.6%), 8 (19.1%), 9 (10.6%), 10 (55.3%).

A calm personal space – 4 (4.3%), 5 (4.3%), 6 (6.4%), 7 (12.8%), 8 (8.5%), 9 (10.6%), 10 (53.2%).

Now here is a question! I see it as very insightful. I just wished I had asked some follow up questions to this one, yet another down side to surveys there is no opportunity to engage with the other person. But, it does help me understand where the community is at this moment. It also helps me point myself in a different direction.

Question five and six dealt with types of products I may consider creating to help people beyond one-on-one consulting.

Five: The top four products you may be interested in are as follows:

Tools and templates (53.5%), books (51.2%), Webinars (39.5%), and online courses (32.6%)

Six: What would motivate you to buy?

Price (68.8%), going at your own pace (58.5%), and ease of applying (43.9%).

All in all, I still was able to gather lots of information. I thank you all for playing along. If you think there is more I should know, please by all means comment below or shot me an email at cjhanlon@sageorganizing. I always love to have MORE info.

I am off to focus my efforts!

Photo by Danilo Rizzuti @ freedigitalphotos.net

