Weather Lessons


This week has been quite the weather week for me in Richmond
Virginia, first was an earthquake, then a hurricane and throw in a couple of
thunder storms and a tornado to boot. It all has left me doing some soul
searching and some re-evaluation of what I have around me. In other words, I’m re-thinking my stuff.

I hate to harp on the whole, “You need to have a preparedness plan” thing again but it is important.

If you made it through the last weather crisis undamaged, now is the time to reflect on what happened, good and bad and make adjustments now.  There are always ways to improve for next time, here are some of the lessons I learned.

  1. Buy an extra tank for gas for the grill. Cold weenies were gross.
  2. Do a load of essential clothing before the storm hits. The thought of not having clean underwear is frightening.

Trust me, I am not making light of the magnitude of the situation. I am fully aware of how things could have turned out. And so on the other side of the coin, what would have happened? What could I have saved if I only had a few moments to get out? I know these are hard questions to face, but it is really important to ask.

Old Yella and it friend baby blue.

Surprising to me is one of the most valuable survival items I own is a big yellow ice chest that is probably as old as I am. This bad boy was handed down to me by my mother, thanks mom! It has been a part of our family gatherings for decades. It was the “keep the peace” separator on long car rides. And it keeps ice, well ice for so much longer than anything made recently. So if I ever had to leave quickly, “old yella” would be on the top of the list.

I’m sharing this lesson with you because I was faced with the question, “What is really important to me?” and I had to answer the question. I couldn’t hide for it I couldn’t pretend it was there, I had to face it. The whole week was about evaluating my life and the stuff in it. I think it is healthy to analyze and investigate this question. I think it should be done several times a year. It is very cleansing. I am very thankful for the ability to write this now.

I am not who I am because of my things. Very cleansing indeed.

Check out Annie Leonard’s web site and short movies at http://www.storyofstuff.com/

