Letting Go And Moving Forward


I woke up today to the news of Steve Jobs’ passing…..

Ironically, I don’t own or have ever used any Apple’s products, so I wasn’t sure at first why I was feeling so sad. I didn’t know the man, didn’t really know anything about the company and yet I was compelled to reflect on how he touched my life. This reflection turned into a comparison between Jobs and my father.

My father died suddenly when I was sixteen. He was involved in an industrial accident at work. He was very bright man but even at a young age I could tell he seemed trapped by all the things he was supposed to be. And the older I get the more I understand the heavy armor he wore just to survive. This scares me because in a lot of ways I am a mirror of my father and I too have worn that armor. I also know that in the end it doesn’t protect you from the one thing we all fear the most, death.

In recent years I have really pulled off the armor but I can still find myself hiding behind something I have been told is the right thing and then I am stuck.  I have said this before and continue to say it, “There are times when I am feeling confused and frustrated. And when I take to time to examine what is going on around I realize again and again that those time of uncertainly correspond to when I try to live someone else reality. It is like forcing a square peg and a round hole.”

I tell you this because the jolt of the “Here and Now” knocked me on my ass that faithful day of my father’s accident and I felt that same jolt this morning as I listened to Steve Jobs commencement speech at Stanford University. http://youtu.be/UF8uR6Z6KLc I am filled such a sense of urgency to get my job done. I am here to help others create their cleaner, greener, neater, beautiful, organized comfortable physical environment. This is what I am supposed to do.

I don’t want to be like Chicken Little and cry that the sky is falling, but what if it is? I plead with you to move forward, let go of the things that are holding you back whether that is physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. Don’t wait for that knock on the door or that phone call letting you know someone you loved has just passed. Ask yourself today, “Do I have enough love, strength, and faith in myself to move forward?”

Today is the day. Today is the day. Today is the day, let it go.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone
else’s life.”
-Steve Jobs

