Not Your School Yearbook Photo


I hate having my photo taken. And because I am me, I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out why and how to solve this problem with no avail. I am not afraid to say that there are some pretty dreadful pictures out there of me. But I am a business owner and with all the social media now-a-days, I must have professional headshots. This has left me at a crossroads, not unlike my clients and potential clients.

How do you bring yourself to do something you know will make things better but are afraid to do?

Have you ever ask or thought these things before starting a new relationship with a service provider?

  1. I don’t want to do it even though I know I have to.
  2. In the past I haven’t had great results.
  3. Though I know the service provider, are they really going to be able to delivery?
  4. I am nervous and self-conscious.
  5. Is the service provider going to judge me?

The list of concerns can stretch a mile long, so long you can lose sight was the original intent and end up not doing anything at all. I know, I get it, because I asked and said these things to myself before my photo shoot with Stephanie.

The short answer to this dilemma is, I had to let my “white knuckle grip” go, and I had to let myself be an active participant in the process. I knew Stephanie, I liked her too, I just had to let go and trusted her. And as a result, I am very happy.

Stephanie, the owner of Stephanie’s Portrait Design, is amazing! If she can pull a couple of headshots out of me….She is nothing short than a miracle worker. She has the right mix of professional expertise and laid back presence that made me feel comfortable and dare I say it, having fun.

Check out her work on her website www.stephaniesportraitdesign.com and Facebook page and you will see that she is well versed and understands how capture the essence, the emotion a subject wants to portray. Now that I have had this experience, I think I will do it again and it won’t be another 20 some odd years between.

Moral of the story:

Business owners – Don’t lose sight that you are a consumer too. There are lessons to be learned for your business in the way you are being treated as a consumer. Take notes and carry these encounters into your business. Also, take the time to look at your business from the outside in. See your business from your customer’s point of view. Sometimes it is less about what you do and more about how you do it.

Clients and potential clients – Don’t lose sight that business owners are consumers too. You are seeking out the service provider for their expertise, but keep in mind there is a lot out there they are not experts in. Fear of the unknown is universal. Tell the service provider you concerns and the business owner should be willing to listen and let you know they understand your specific fears.

In the end, we all ask the same questions and we all are looking for the same answers. We are not alone.

