The REAL Truth About Success Review


“The REAL Truth About Success: What the top 1% do differently, why they won’t tell you, and how you can do it anyway!”. by Garrison Wynn. Published by McGraw Hill, New York. Copyright 2010. ISBN 978-0-07-163465-6

Garrison Wynn is snarky. (Snarky – someone who makes comments that aren’t completely rude per say but can be read as under minding just the same.) That being said, Garrison also calls himself on it.

The book was this month’s read for the business book club I belong to. I thought it was a good read, and a lot of great points, but it wasn’t something I thought I loved. I wasn’t even going to post a review for it because I thought it was just okay. But last night when we gathered to discuss the book, I saw firsthand how a book can touch someone else deep down inside. After seeing this, I felt complied to write a review.

Last night’s discussion started as usual with a little small talk and then casually slipped into a rhythm by quoting passages from the book. The one I quoted came from page 90,

 “And truth be told, phony, inflexible humans who make people look bad in front of others make up a large portion of the business world.”

If you follow me, you already know that I tend to have a different view and opinion about things, most things to be exact. Some call me weird, some try very hard to change my mind, and some avoid me all together. That being said, this quote really struck a chord with me. I thought, “Wow, someone else sees it too and I am just not imagining it. This makes me feel better knowing I am not alone”. And this is what I said to the group.

One of the other members speaks up and says, “You know, that quote spoke to me too. It made you feel like you are not alone where as for me; it kicked me in the ass!” He went on to explain that he in the past has been that jerk. He also told us that after reading the book he apologized to his wife! And that he will reread this book time and time again.

Wow, what an impact! I have never experienced anyone else being so moved by a book. It was inspiring, it was amazing and yes I told him so. I hope he continues to be open and honest with himself and others. And for this point alone I recommend the book, see what changes for you by reading it.

“The REAL Truth About Success: What the top 1% do differently, why they won’t tell you, and how you can do it anyway!”. by Garrison Wynn. Published by McGraw Hill, New York. Copyright 2010. ISBN 978-0-07-163465-6

